PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

ptzky

Lurker
Apr 1, 2021
Brazil
Hi!

I'm a beginner that just tried pipe for the first time this week.

I've never smoked anything, besides 15 minutes of hookah a few years ago. Never tried cigarettes, cigars, ou anything that has tobacco in it.

I bought my first pipe and my first tobacco this week. The tobacco that I bought is a flovored one called Cândido Giovanella, produced in my city (Curitiba, Brazil).

I smoked it three times. I really liked the smell of it, and the sensation of the smoke entering my mouth, but that was basically it. I felt absolutely nothing. I was not more relaxed, more euphoric, more calm, more alert, dizzy or anything like that. Nothing.

I looked for the reason for this, and apparently it is common with flavored tobacco. Especially the cheapest ones, as was the case with this one (45g for about R$35, or $6). Does this make any sense?

I am thinking of buying a non-flavored, very strong one, like the Peterson Irish Flake (for comparison of price, 50g of this one is around R$170, or $30), in order to finally feel something/anything while smoking... Should I do this?

During my searches, I found some people commenting on nic-kick -- sometimes as a bad thing, and sometimes as a good thing. But I haven't found what this actually is. What is it like? Is that what I mentioned earlier, of feeling extremely more relaxed, for example? Or is it something completely different?

Thank you for all the help!

Reactions: danimalia

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA
Depends on how your body react to it. It can cause dizziness, shortness of breath. But it could be very relaxing and make you go "ahhh.." No, it's not orgasmic. It feels like all the weight on your body has drained off. Cigarettes can definitely give nicotine buzz if you can inhale. Be warned, it can also knock you off your feet. I don't really suggest it.

OzPiper

Lifer
Nov 30, 2020
Sydney, Australia
Welcome @ptzky.