PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

futureman

Can't Leave
Jul 9, 2011
Ohio (Displaced Central Texan)
Still on a quest for that minimally hay-like, non-aro Virginia flake that will satisfy my sweet tooth. Just ordered some Cut Virginia Plug, and we'll see how it compares to Dunhill Flake, Capstan Blue, and Klondike Gold (a current favorite). Thanks for the recommendations, all!

Dec 24, 2012
The CVP is very tasty and, in my view, compares really well to Klondike Gold. Keep in mind though that the KG has some age on it, but I do believe that CVP will taste very similar to the KG with comparable aging.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
CVP is one of my go to first of the day smokes. I have been smoking it since 2001 and it has always been a very consistent performer. It is similar to the Klondike Gold, Capstan Blue and Dunhill flake, nice and sweet and no bite. It ages incredibly well and turns jet black after a decade or more. If you like the Gold I am fairly certain you will really enjoy CVP.

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
futureman, I find McClelland's VAs to be among the sweetest with very little hay-like flavor (are you looking for hay-like flavor or looking to avoid it?). Matured VA 22 is very sweet, as is Blackwoods Flake and the Christmas Cheer series, especially when aged a bit.

futureman

Can't Leave
Jul 9, 2011
Ohio (Displaced Central Texan)
Hi pitchfork. I like McClelland's stuff. But I find that red forward blends tend to bite me (not as bad as Harris, perhaps, but there is often some discomfort). Rattray's blends are more tolerable for me on this score. But (for example) Blackwood's Flake can really torch my tongue if I'm not careful. Is No. 22 a red-forward blend?

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012