PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
If the jarring is done with proper sealing, it won't dry out.
What could be happening to cause the above observation is that when transferring to a jar, the tobacco may dry a bit with exposure to drier air, but won't be noticeable until after it's reopened.

Reactions: BROBS

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com
Newbie here!

when cellaring tobacco is it best to keep it in the sealed tin or transfer to a ball jar?

also I’m finding most tobacco smokes best when dried out significantly. Would I dry it out before I cellar it or other?

thanks for
Any feedback!
It depends on how long you intend to cellar a blend. If you're looking at more than 10 years, the rectangular and square metal tins are, from my experience, a dodgy solution. I'm currently enjoying Germain's Brown Flake from a 14 year old tin. It hadn't completely lost its seal, but the pressure over the years had nearly equalized and it took almost no effort to pop the tin. The contents were significantly drier than they were when originally tinned. Fortunately they were at the perfect dryness for smoking. A couple of other tins of this batch had completely failed. These tins were never intended for long term storage. Some will hold up and increasing persentages will not as the years pass.

The round tins are better at holding their seal. Canister tins generally do OK, though I've had a few from the '90's that have lost their seal.

If you're thinking less than 10 years on average, the tins will be okay. More years than that, better to transfer the contents to .7 mil food grade mylar bags and heat seal. Use jars as well.

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA