PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

KDD

Lurker
Oct 13, 2020
Hi All,

I am new to smoking a pipe, just bought my first pipe (Savinelli Noce 626) received it and trying to break in. My issue is i cannot keep the pipe lit. Each puff needs a relight.
I am using Davidoff flake medallions.

First time i just rubbed them, filled the pipe losely to the top. took me about 10 minutes to finish the bowl but had to relight every single time. So i thought the Tobacco might be wet.

I let the pipe rest for 48 hours then put some tobacco out for an hour on a napkin to dry it. Same issue with the relights but this time the tobacco tasted nastier than the first time. I think i dried it alot.

Right now, i dont care about the taste as long as i learn to keep the pipe lit. And its not like im lighting, taking a puff and sitting back for a couple of minutes to take another puff. As soon as i puff the smoke out i need to relight again.

Now i need to wait for another 48 hours before i can light it up again?

Can anybody help?

KDD

Lurker
Oct 13, 2020
I just tried again before reading your post,

This time i filled the bowl and tamped it down to about third of the bowl. I needed to relight less, i can see the tobacco lit but when i try to puff there is barely any smoke although the tobacco is lit, i need to puff quick hot puffs to get one smooth one then go through the same process few quick hot puffs and then a smooth one.

Maybe the tobacco is really wet, dont know if those flake medallions come like that. I will let the tobacco sit out for a day and then give it another try tomorrow. Just hope i dont burn the pipe. Its getting hot but feels warm on my cheek not hot.

Is it normal to start developing black marks in the bowl ? they dont feel rough or anything, very smooth and the cake is developing nicely.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013