PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ishtavan23

Lurker
Jun 8, 2021
Hello there, as a newbie I came by to ask if someone can explain what has happened here and if a brand new savinelli pipe just broke after a single smoking. To cut it short, I am a mediocre smoker and my previous pipe bought two years ago shows almost no signs of damage so far except minor deformations inside the pipe bowl. (Not surprising after two years of smoking the same pipe). I recently purchased a pipe in Italy from Savinelli only to find this happening. I'm not sure if this is meant to happen due to carving or if this is just the pipe cracking entirely for some unknown reason. I had not really studied the inside of the pipe before buying it but it almost feels too impossible for a pipe to crack to this extent over a single one hour sitting - the balsa system and the outside + shank seem completely fine.

This is a Savinelli 606 Rusticated one which I have a quality control for. Should I ask for it to be replaced immediately or am I just panicking over something that's inherently part of the pipe? (I didn't really study the inside of the pipe before using it at first with a flashlight so spotting such small cracks was hard when I first got it.)

20210608_233008.jpg20210608_232839.jpg

tobefrank

Lifer
Jun 22, 2015
Australia
If I'd have to have a guess I'd say that the factory applied bowl coating cracked and not the wood. Perhaps it was applied a bit generously and the heat expansion made it crack.

Ishtavan23

Lurker
Jun 8, 2021
If I'd have to have a guess I'd say that the factory applied bowl coating cracked and not the wood. Perhaps it was applied a bit generously and the heat expansion made it crack.
Should I be looking for a return or is this not gonna really affect the pipe itself much?

tobefrank

Lifer
Jun 22, 2015
Australia