PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Red Leader

Might Stick Around
Feb 12, 2022
Colorado
I feel almost guilty making this post. Never thought I'd be doing it actually. As a total newbie Kaywoodie collector, I've got about 4 of them - a far cry from the 'well I sold off about 250 of them and now I'm down to only several dozen...' type of posts that I see on here haha. I'm also cheap when it comes to pipes, so most of the auctions quickly go into the stratosphere, and felt I've 'snuck by' on the ones I've gotten.

Which is also why I'm nearly in shock that I am the new owner of a Kaywoodie Centennial.

You really don't want to hear me yammer on, you want to see the pipe. Guy I got it from was a complete gentleman, feel very blessed for seeing it before anyone else snagged it.

CT3.jpg

CT4.jpg

CT5.jpg

CT7.jpg

CT8.jpg

Pipe is in remarkable shape for its age. Feels really solid, heavy...in a good way. It doesn't seem to have been smoked much. Has some bite marks that are nearing 'chew through' on the stem that will need attention, but wanted to sharpen my bit repair/blending skills before doing this one. Had a little bit of a chew mark on the metal attachment, so I cleaned that up and very gently smoothed the transition -

CT1.jpg

CT2.jpg

I've only smoked it once. Getting back into tobacco pipes, I sort of did a 'sampler set' of about 20 different tobaccos that I thought sounded good to expand my palette. I generally prefer aromatics, but thought this pipe deserved something different, so I started it out with some GW Dark Birds Eye. Next up will probably be either Macbaren HH Dark Fired ready rubbed or Balkan Supreme.

In looking up Kaywoodie Centennials, there are not many posts or pictures, so I thought I would add to the small collective. If my eyes were not mistaking me, I think I saw another KW Centennial sell recently, a straight bulldog type, in a small lot of med-higher end pipes. Someone also got a deal on that one.