PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

CNMoose

Lurker
Aug 26, 2020
Eastern Townships, Quebec, Canada
Good Day Pipe Smokers,
Being a new member, I was not sure if this question should be under the pipe topics, but hey, I can ask dumb questions in this section.
I'm new to pipe smoking, and I just got a nice Neerup Pipe - Classic Partially Rusticated Bent Pot from SmokingPipes.
Small problem...it seems the tenon moves back and forth inside the stem. When the stem in place, it just clicks back when you pick it up. Given I'm in Canada, I really want to fix this myself and not return it (too much hassle, unless you guys say it is the right way to go).Neerup Pipe.jpg
What type of glue would most likely work...I'm thinking a very thin super glue, given how small the area I need to glue is.
Cheers, your northern neighbour!

elvishrunes

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 19, 2017
Nice Neerup, I’ve been Eyeing his stuff for a while now... Just waiting for “my” pipe.

My guess would be crazy glue too. In the past I’ve used tuck tape, NOT duck, but tuck... It’s red and you get it at Home Depot... But It‘s for bigger spaces. But crazy glue sounds about right. It might wear off, but just add a little more. Maybe someone knows a glue that binds harder?

I’m Canadian too btw, cheers.

Reactions: solideogloria86
Jul 17, 2017
NV
pencilandpipe.home.blog
I've never experienced this issue before. I have a very similar neerup structure and don't have this issue. My stem is a swirled acrylic but the tenon is black. I'm assuming it's delrin. A two piece stem and tenon. This makes me think it was originally glued in and maybe not well enough? I'd imagine super glue will do the job.

craig61a

Lifer
Apr 29, 2017
Minnesota USA
I use superglue to fix stuff like that often. Just load up a q-tip, not dripping but saturated, and wipe around the interior of the mortise. Give it 10 minutes to dry and your in business.

Reactions: BROBS

CNMoose

Lurker
Aug 26, 2020
Eastern Townships, Quebec, Canada