Aug 18, 2014
Going to try to use this piece of Mesquite. Hope I wont screw it up to bad
sdc10417-600x450.jpg

thanks

John

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
How fire resistant is Mesquite? Do you have a piece of the limb or the root there? It arches up

nicely, but it does narrow significantly which might make for a narrow bowl. One of the carvers

in my state works in Mountain Laurel, and it seems to be as good a pipe as briar, although not

as showy with grain. I believe he uses only root. I have three of the Mountain Laurel pipes.

phxrock

Can't Leave
Aug 18, 2014
The Mesquite is denser than Briar there may be a little bit of checking but I doubt it. I have turned some for knobs for walking sticks they were solid.
This is a piece of limb. As I was looking at it I could see a cutty style pipe, or a poker. then slowley I studied it and saw a hybrid cutty/poker. AfterI get it marked up I will post the picture then you will be able to see the hybrid cutty/poker
If you could see the end grain it is very close and tight. This is the same wood that most people like to smoke their ribs, ect. over.
I have most of the tools that will be need execpt the drill bits so it will be awhile before it is done. Will also have to find a stem. Hell I might pull a stem from a Chineese cob and use that.
have a great day

John

clickklick

Lifer
May 5, 2014
Guys be very careful and do the proper research before using wood types for smoking pipes. Some wood types can be very hazardous to use for smoking tobacco. Don't throw caution to the wind just because you can smoke meat or enhance cooking flavors with some.

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
http://www.tobaccopipes.com/different-materials-used-to-make-tobacco-pipes/
Mesquite is fine and many pipes have already been made using it.

In fact, the article indicates that you have STYLE! :)