PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

SunriseBoy

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 18, 2021
Toowoomba
I've been smoking MM cobs for many years, long before I joined, left, and returned to PM.
I have some Diplomats & Generals, (two of each) I got way back when...smoke wonderfully. However, having bought two new Diplomats and a 'General' recently. As I smoke the new ones, I'm left wondering if MM are getting their stuff made in China. Because these new ones don't smoke that well.
The 'General' is nearly a full half inch shorter than the old ones. After the mod is done with pipe mud, 'a la Canerod piper' the bowl is only just 43mm.
The old General is just on 52mm.
It seems to me the accountant at MM is now directing how the cobs should be made. The motto at MM, IMO, is, 'profit comes first.
Accordingly, I'm looking for another cob maker.
Very disappointing.

Reactions: plains

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
I have a number of MMs - as a matter of fact, I just bought a new Boone a month or so ago. I almost always start my day with burley in a cob.
I can't tell you how old my oldest cobs are, but they probably date back ten years or so. I have not noticed that the new ones smoke less well than the old ones.
Darned good pipes, IMO.

SunriseBoy

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 18, 2021
Toowoomba
Yeah, I know that. I just felt that there was a considerable shrinkage in the size of the latest General I bought. Nearly a full half inch shorter than my other three!

• Haha
Reactions: Puffaluffaguss

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
Its been a while since I smoked a cob, probably around a year maybe. I hadn't noticed anything then. But I do know MM bought the only other corn cob pipe company around, Old Dominion.

Have you looked for customs cobs? There could be some older hidden gems lurking around unsmoked. And they don't all have to be purple or green!

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012