PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

quincy

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 7, 2013
So, I'd been eyeing one on P&C for a bit. You certainly can't beat the price. So, yesterday I ordered one for IPSD... Am I going to regret it? What have been your experiences with Manufacturer's Seconds?

ohin3

Lifer
Jun 2, 2010
I have no experience save for the fact that I have owned 2 Parkers which are supposedly Dunhill seconds. Both smoked well one of them was amazing. Sadly it was lost when sat on by a very large friend of mine. Most seconds that I have seen usually just have cosmetic issues like fills or odd shapes but the engineering tends to be the same. What brand's second did you buy?

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
ohin3:
Manufacturer's Seconds is actually the "brand" name for the pipes P&C is selling. The OP wasn't using a generic here.
One thing I noticed on the P&C site is that the pipes shown are not always the actual pipes you would receive. For instance, they use the exact same image for two different pipe models. So you won't really know what you're getting until it arrives. The couple I looked at closely showed severe sand-pitting and fissures; several have multiple fills. Such flaws won't likely affect the smoking quality at all -- unless there are similar problems inside the bowl -- but they certainly aren't as visually appealing as a lot of other board/basket/second pipes I've seen. But you're talking about a $30-40 pipe. Not sure you can do much better with a new pipe these days, no matter who the manufacturer is. But for a little more money -- say, something in the $60-80 range -- I think you can get a much nicer-looking product and perhaps even one from a major pipe company.

quincy

Feb 7, 2013