Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 13, 2020
missouri
Man, I've been drying it for 10 years. Actually more because the latest I could have bought it was 2010. Steve Book's handwriting was on the label and Steve left that shop around 2010. I probably bought it years before then. It was in a baggie the whole time. And it's still moist!
Impressive...

mingc

Lifer
Jun 20, 2019
The Big Rock Candy Mountains
Impressive...
Same thing with the Mac Baren Cube. I bought it in 2004, when it first came out, packaged in that fancy wooden, well, cube. I've had like maybe 5 bowls the whole time and left the rest in the fancy, unsealed, gold bag inside the cube. Still moist. Topping's still there like I day I opened it. If they stick me and the Cube in a pyramid, I bet it'd still be smokeable in 2000 years, while I've turned to dust

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA
Interesting. Maybe they changed the amount of humectant? Oldest I’ve had was from 2013 and it was fairly dry.

Reactions: jpmcwjr

mingc

Lifer
Jun 20, 2019
Interesting. Maybe they changed the amount of humectant? Oldest I’ve had was from 2013 and it was fairly dry.
That's a real possibility. MB didn't develop the sterling reputation that it has today, I don't think, until the HH line. First of it was Vintage Syrian in 2006, as I recall. Before that it was Mac Bitey and goop, at least to some. Maybe it heard the complaints about the goop.

But also very reasonably priced. The price on my 2 oz bag was $5.95. It doesn't get cheaper that that for something from a B&M in this neck of the woods.

logs

Lifer
Apr 28, 2019
That's a real possibility. MB didn't develop the sterling reputation that it has today,