PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexnorth

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 7, 2015
Hello everybody

I just became a member here and I am kinda new to pipe smoking. I have been smoking a pipe occasionally for a couple of months and it is strictly for pleasure. I have smoked cigarettes Before but stopped years ago.
I am looking to you fine gentlemen and women for help in choosing my next tobacco purchase.

I am currently breaking in my new Peterson pipe and i have a straight Burley Tobacco which I've read will do it well. Reading up on the different Tobaccos i found that Burley contains alot (the most?) nicotine and i felt it in half a bowl. Not nauseated but a bit light headed.
I have also been enjoying a tin of rattray´s Royal albert which i don't feel affected by at all in the same way.
Flake Tobacco looks inviting to me and I am currently eyeing the SG st james flake. I Think it sounds very interesting but I am afraid that it might be too Heavy in the nicotine departement. How does it stack up to the best Brown flake? Should I perhaps choose something else entirely?
I guess I'm all over the Place here but I've got like a million questions buzzing around my head and its so damn funny this hobby!
All suggestions are welcome! puff away..

menuhin

Oct 21, 2014
Hallo alexnorth,

Welcome to the forum!

I haven't tried Rattray's Royal Albert so I do not know what your bottom line of "low nicotine" is. But the two SG flakes (St. James Flake & BBF) seem to be on the heavier than on the light side. For SG flake, I would suggest perhaps Sam's Flake - good Virginia sweetness but not heavy. Good solid Va or VaPer flakes seem to be on the heavier side in general, just in my opinion.

I am sure other forum members can give you some good suggestions.

Enjoy your journey of pipe smoking!

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013