Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

H

Hfinn

I noticed that big stores don't sell Mastro de Paja pipes. As for me, their pipes look very nice. Does anyone know why online retailers like Smokingpipes, Alpascia or Danishpipeshop don't deal with them? They don't look like a small workshop; they must be making a lot of pipes. Are there those who have their pipes, how is the impression at all? Could it be a matter of quality?

Dec 3, 2021
Pennsylvania & New York
I wonder if smokingpipes carrying Savinelli prevents them from carrying Mastro de Paja. But, they also carry Brebbia. They also carry Rossi, which I can easily understand, since Savinelli makes those. I have no experience with Mastro de Paja pipes, but I have a cigar travel humidor they made for Nat Sherman. The seal isn't the best, so I do wonder if quality could be an issue.

Reactions: Hfinn and BROBS

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Yes, I used to see Mastro de Paja at online retailers, though I can't remember which ones. I think it is difficult to launch and sustain brands, and I'm not sure they are still in business. Luciano made excellent pipes that sold pretty well for a while. It appears they have gone out of business, at least in pipes, though I still see their cigars for sale. I think cigars are a more dependable revenue stream. They seem to provide a better profit margin, the way they've edged out pipes at pipe and tobacco shops. I like both cigars and pipes, but for me, pipes win out for several reasons. As I've said before, cigars are like eating at a restaurant, with the chef making all the decisions and presenting a completely turned product, whereas pipes are more engaging, with lots of user input all the way, like cooking at home.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014