PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

JR McDuff

Lurker
Feb 2, 2021
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

I'm new to pipes and not sure how long my tobacco will keep after being put in Mason jars. If I only smoke a couple of times a week will it eventually go bad?
Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

JR McDuff

Lurker
Feb 2, 2021
Tobacco, if stored correctly, will outlast your life span. You can read more about here:

Thanks! But if I buy a few tins and open all three of them at the same time, but won't get around to finishing them for a few weeks, how should I store these tobacco's for occasional use, not long term storage?

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com

SoddenJack

Can't Leave
Apr 19, 2020
West Texas
Thanks! But if I buy a few tins and open all three of them at the same time, but won't get around to finishing them for a few weeks, how should I store these tobacco's for occasional use, not long term storage?
I finish blends at a snails pace. When I open a tin I toss it in a mason jar, than I don’t have to worry about it. They’re perfect for short or long term storage.

If you want something fancier and nicer looking you can go with spring top jars. They look nicer, which can be a benefit if you have your stash out on shelf or something. They’re not air tight like mason jars. So they’re only good for short term storage, maybe a month or two, three at most before it will probably start to noticeably dry out. It won’t go “bad” per se, it will just be less than optimal. Maybe a little loss or change in flavor.

gervais

Lifer
Sep 4, 2019
Ontario
I have some open tins that have been cracked for over a year and I had left the tobacco in them, they all have some moisture still in them and very smokeable. I do still use mason jars for long term storage. My experience shows that it lasts quite a while in the tin

jrharrigan

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 27, 2020