I'm a Noobie and I Need Help with Tongue Bite! Please!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Chicken Cod

Lurker
Feb 6, 2020
Miami-Dade County, Florida
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9) - Bob

Greetings brothers. This is my first post on this forum so if I am in any way straying from the proper decorum please let me know and forgive me in advance. Background: I have been smoking a pipe now for about three or four months. I've never smoked cigarettes and my experience smoking anything else is limited to the usual college-level sort of shenanigans, many, many, moons ago.

I started in November of last year, and in the beginning it was rough. Everything tasted awful. It felt like I was smoking an ashtray and I could not understand what it was that people find enjoyable about this experience. However, over time, I have slowly been able to gain a slight but still tenuous grasp upon the myriad flavors, subtleties, aromas, styles, and blends of tobacco available in the world today. I have bought dozens of bulk blends, as well as some tins. I am definitely drawn to the smell of aromatics but I agree with the prevailing sentiment that the taste rarely lives up to the promise of the tin or room note. Latakia is still inaccessible to me. Too much at the moment.

The first blend I developed any ability to enjoy was Lane 1-Q. Since then, I have expanded my menu of enjoyable smokes to include Autumn Evening by C&D, No. 150 Mark Twain by Sutliff, and Prince Albert. I have been averaging anywhere between one to three bowls per day, depending mainly on how badly burnt my mouth is by the time I succumb and how much pain I can tolerate once I light up.