PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Hunter1

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 23, 2022
MD
I'm already getting the bug for another pipe. I'm ready to pull the triger on a Perterson army mount, but I like a genod pipe also. Who makes the better pipe? I'm leaning towards the Peterson, I have two already and love them. But I'm open to something different also. I was looking to get a Meerschuam but They are expencive. The AKB's are around the price of the peterson, but I heard there cheap.

Last edited:
Reactions: Briar Tuck and BCF

Hunter1

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 23, 2022
MD
So, the AKB's in the $100.00 price range are good? I was reading the way the stem mounts to them is not very good. Will a Meerschaum smoke and last as long as a Briar pipe? I'm a novice to some of these pipes.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
I was reading the way the stem mounts to them is not very good.
Some don't like the screw in mortise and tenon system but it's much less expensive to repair that a damaged permanent insert. AKB is less a manufacturer though and more a distributor. Different craftsman use different mounts.

Will a Meerschaum smoke and last as long as a Briar pipe?
If not longer.

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
I'm already getting the bug for another pipe. I'm ready to pull the triger on a Perterson army mount, but I like a genod pipe also. Who makes the better pipe? I'm leaning towards the Peterson, I have two already and love them. But I'm open to something different also. I was looking to get a Meerschuam but They are expencive. The AKB's are around the price of the peterson, but I heard there cheap.
Meerschaummarket.com

They have a lot of new inventory, with a lot of added inexpensive meers.

OzPiper

Lifer
Nov 30, 2020
Sydney, Australia
It all depends on what shape you are considering 🤔
There are Petes I absolutely love, and some I don't care for.
Ditto Genods.
Difficult to advise without knowing your tastes

Reactions: Briar Tuck