PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Retirement and the pandemic have caused my mileage on my Mazda to be minimal, but the car is six years old and has the original tires. My local Discount Tire store has a handout that says tires age out at 6 years, and visual inspection says two of the tires are marginal, and the others worn. We're an older couple, and a flat, much more a blow-out, would be a catastrophe for us. Most of our errands and medical appointments are done in my car. So, should I get a new set of tires or wait another year? I'm thrifty, but I don't want to be stupid. The car has only 32,000 miles, but the original tires look tired. Sorry to be so off the pipe subject, but I've gotten some useful consumer advice here in the past, from bright folks here, pro and con. I'll give the Discount Tire people credit for being low key and not going into a big fear and shame campaign. Time for tires?

I am not an expert and I hope some expert will answer you. Here’s what I would do though

1. I will take an opinion from a trusted mechanic who would inspect the tire visually. While rubber do degenerate after a period, only a visual inspection would tell whether it need to be changed
2. In the absence of the opinion of a mechanic, it is better to change
3. Buy a reputed brand (Preferably OEM) - they are worth it
4. Costco is a good place to change tires for cheap

I did a little bit research on this.

1. General Consensus- After 6 years inspect them for dry rot regularly. Change them between 6-10 years

2. My cars use Bridgestone. Bridgestone recommends changing them before 10 year mark

3. I have a guide to identify dry rot - but it is better done by a mechanic

4. Research your tire brand - they will have a knowledge base on this

Link 1- How to identify dry rot

Link 2 - Bridgestone recommendation of 10 years

Reactions: jeepnewbie
Mar 2, 2021
Alabama USA