Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tech49

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 2, 2020
Hamburg Twp, MI
Hello to my fellow pipe smokers. I'm located in Southeastern Lower Michigan, north of Ann Arbor in Hamburg Township.

I've been posting for a couple months now, but thought I should come back here to the Introductions forum and do it right.

I'm just getting back into smoking a pipe after smoking mainly cigars for the past 20 years.

My first motivation to smoke a pipe can be traced back to reading Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn as a kid. Those kids were always smoking a pipe, and interestingly, pipes they made themselves. My first pipe was one I made out of hickory when I was 16, stuffed with Amphora from my dad's can in the livingroom.

I smoked a pipe all through college, but switched to cigars mainly because they're a little more portable and self-contained than a pipe/pouch/tool setup, and cigars were easier to handle during active outside pursuits.

But lately, I wanted some variety over the cigar tobacco experience, so, I'm rediscovering pipe smoking.

In my youth, I smoked the OTCs which were most available in rural New York where I grew up, so I didn't have much experience with the huge variety of blends I have access to now. So, I'm finding I like them all- aromatics, English/Balkan blends, and burleys and Virginias.

And I'm really liking the codger blends I grew up on. Finally, I'm old enough to smoke a codger as a codger.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013