PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
Does anyone here collect Cavicchi's? I have been pining for one for over 10 years but the actylic stem hold me back. Are they similar to Castello or Radice or other Italian makers? Do they do anything that makes it almost as comfortable as a eWll made German vulcanite stem?

I think Cavicchi makes some of the best shaped Dublins, Apples and Billiards. If I were to get one the Dublin would be first. So can anyone help me out. Castello, Viprati, Radice, Don Carlos, Ser Jacobo, Mastro de Paja old Caninetto's from the Radice/ Ascorti era are all pipes I have owned in the past and moved them all because of the stems. I really want to try a Cavicchi but am reticent because of the stems. Any help would be appreciated.

Reactions: AppalachianPipe92

Papamique

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 11, 2020
I have a “few” Cavicchi pipes and the stems are acrylic through and through. He makes no apology for it and the best I can tell doesn’t try to make them like ebonite. If you can’t stand acrylic I wouldn’t recommend one.

However, they are very well done pipes and the briar is very well seasoned (however he does it) and beautiful. Everything about the making of them is perfectly done. From drilling to fit and finish in my opinion anyways.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
Thanks Papa, I appreciate your take on the subject. I had a strong feeling that is what I was going to hear. If you have any Castelllo's, how do they compare smoking wise, not comfort wise? . I loved the way my Castello smoked but they don't have the styling and shaping that I like about the Cavicchi.

My only option it seems it to have a custom made vulcanite stem for it but I am not sure if George does that kind of thing, I will ask him.

Reactions: Papamique

spike

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 21, 2009