PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

textiger

Lurker
Feb 16, 2010
First one didn't post, going to try again.
I found this pipe while going through some of my grandfather's stuff. There are no distinguishing markings to determine who made it so I was wondering if anyone could help. Here are links to images of the pipe:
Pipe pic 1

Pipe Pic 2
The only distinguishing characteristics are the gold cap on the bowl and shank.
Thanks for you help!

textiger

Lurker
Feb 16, 2010
I haven't smoked it yet, since the stem is in really bad shape. I don't think it's the original stem just by the fact it's not your standard Bulldog stem. It had some tobacco still in the bottom of the bowl that had been there for who knows how long. I'm new to restoration, but think I will try the alcohol/salt in the bowl to clean it up a bit, then some Murphy's soap on the outside of the bowl.
I will try and get some better pictures of it. The iPhone just doesn't have that great a camera.

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com
I have no idea what brand of pipe that is, but I do know that the stem is definitely a replacement and not original. It looks like whoever used to smoke that pipe just took a stem that fit it and put it on.
The briar part looks really nice. I would have somebody make a replacement stem that suits the pipe more. Once it is cleaned up, I think it will look great.
Be sure to post some better photos. Some before and after shots from the cleaning.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Given the condition of the stem, and the fact that even it is not the original, may indicate that it was old even before your grandfather acquired it. I don't have a clue as to the maker; but I think I would take Kevin's advice and consult a restorer before you do something you might regret. A professional opinion can't hurt.

textiger

Lurker
Feb 16, 2010