Help: Estate Rim Clean Or Sand Or Stain.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.

jttnk

Lifer
Dec 22, 2017
Phoenix, AZ
I have recently purchased this cool Jeantet brush carved billiard. It was cleaned when I got it. I did a final salt alcohol soak, ran hot water and alcohol through and it satisfactorily cleansed. I will do coffee grounds to make sure it’s not haunted.

Now the question; looking at the images, the rim is sort of flattened out or worn of its carving. I am wondering if I

A) Try to sand it gently smooth and have a contrasting rim and bevel.

B) Just wipe it clean and stain it black? Will I then need to restain the rest of the stummel?

C) Just leave it alone? Although I’m not in love with how it looks currently.

I am relatively new at cleaning up, by no means have great handy skills, so any suggestions please keep in mind beginner skills.

lastly pipe was $12.00 so I’m not going to loose my mind if I experiment a bit.

thanks in advance.03952BF8-63A6-4E83-9ED1-EAC9179FBE88.jpegFCAB90CC-1F59-444C-8CD7-39927AF6B208.jpegB956D395-6ADF-4A40-992F-E84A16F27B79.jpeg

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA
It’s not worn it’s filled in with tar and ash. Scrub it with a toothbrush and cold water. Use the bristles like a hatchet into the rim. Also a wet paper towel.
Afterward you will need fiebings black leather dye and halcyon 2 wax. Will look brand new.

jttnk

Lifer
Dec 22, 2017
Phoenix, AZ
It’s not worn it’s filled in with tar and ash. Scrub it with a toothbrush and cold water. Use the bristles like a hatchet into the rim. Also a wet paper towel.
Afterward you will need fiebings black leather dye and halcyon 2 wax. Will look brand new.
. I have the tools and skills for that. A coat of new dye around the entire piece can’t hurt either right.

Reactions: BROBS

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA