PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simplicity

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 20, 2020
Michigan
Hello - Just purchased the below Loewe pipe. I am trying to get a general time period on it, but can't seem to come up with one. It has L&Co on the left shank and Loewe London W on the right shank, which would indicate a middle-ish Haymarket era. The confusing part for me is there are no stampings on the bottom shank. I have two other Loewes, both have a shape name stamped on the bottom and were fairly easy to get a time period using this guide. Checking if anyone might have some thoughts on it.

image0 (1).jpegimage1 (1).jpegimage2 (1).jpeg

Ahi Ka

Lurker
Feb 25, 2020
Aotearoa (New Zealand)
Ok first up I’m no expert, and I’ve mainly relied on that pipedia link as well these forums for my own Loewes.

I’m currently trying to date a pastime, my conclusion is that it is Midd Haymarket era, but maybe Late 30s- early 50s because of not having the orific button - it seems like the models shown in the 1930 catalogue still had them. I’m not sure when these were phased out for current bit style. Do you feel the stem is the original?

In terms of dating by the tenon I have a 1910 which has a step in too, so I wouldn’t let that be the only logic for placing later in the Haymarket era.

Definitely no 3digit number on the shank aye?

It looks in good condition and should smoke very well.

Simplicity

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 20, 2020
Michigan
Ok first up I’m no expert, and I’ve mainly relied on that pipedia link as well these forums for my own Loewes.

I’m currently trying to date a pastime, my conclusion is that it is Midd Haymarket era, but maybe Late 30s- early 50s because of not having the orific button - it seems like the models shown in the 1930 catalogue still had them. I’m not sure when these were phased out for current bit style. Do you feel the stem is the original?