PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavidT

Might Stick Around
Nov 12, 2019
Iowa
Hello everyone.
I'm new to pipe smoking after having been a life long cigarette smoker.
I got my first pipe about four years ago. A Savinelli "Broomhilda" limited edition churchwarden. It didn't last long (about a year) before It got broken from misuse and mishandling and I just sort of walked away from it for a few years.

I started missing the good smells and better experiences from pipes over smoking the cigarettes a couple weeks ago and decided to buy a new pipe, some tobacco, and leave the cigarettes behind for good this time.

The new pipe is yet another Savinelli Churchwarden. It's a shape 921 Smooth that I acquired from Smokingpipes.com yesterday and should be delivered by Friday.

In the meantime, I picked up a MM cob from the local cigarette shop and 4oz of Sutliff Vanilla Custard from pipesandcigars.com.

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA
Welcome from the next state over in Iowa!
Might I suggest since you are so used to cigs to get a pipe that is more portable?
I bet a chubby nosewarmer would fit that bill or a small Peterson system pipe.

have you found any tobaccos that you particularly like?

Reactions: diamondback

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Welcome aboard. I grew up in Chicagoland, an suburb adjacent to the city's Edison Park. My mom's people were from the little town of Sandwich west of Chicago.

DavidT

Might Stick Around
Nov 12, 2019
Iowa
Welcome from the next state over in Iowa!
Might I suggest since you are so used to cigs to get a pipe that is more portable?
I bet a chubby nosewarmer would fit that bill or a small Peterson system pipe.

have you found any tobaccos that you particularly like?

I was thinking the same thing about portability. I'll have a look at the Peterson system pipes. I'm not familiar with the "nosewarmer" types :) they sound interesting though.