PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Jan 4, 2023
Anchorage, Alaska
Haha thanks
@PipeIT

Hello Gary and welcome from Palmer, AK!

Short notice, but there is an Alaska Pipe Club meeting tomorrow (Friday the 6th) at 6pm at 5th Avenue Cigars new lounge in Anchorage if you can make it! There will likely be one other new member there as well. Membership is free and It’s totally fun and informal.

Also check out our club pages on Facebook and Instagram!

Welcome to the site, you will find it to be a wealth of knowledge, information, camaraderie, and enabling 😂

Cheers!

Frank
I just got accepted in the group and will be there tomorrow!

Deano

Can't Leave
Dec 28, 2022
Iowa
Hey folks! My name is Gary and I'm from Anchorage, Alaska. I've been lurking on this site for a few weeks and finally got around to joining. I'm new to smoking pipe, just a few months into it- and really enjoy it. I was introduced to pipes a few years ago, but didn't enjoy it due to smoking too fast, improper packing, not knowing how to tamp, etc...

This time around, I felt the desire to try again after remembering my grandfather enjoying his pipe daily. So this time I took the time to learn the right way (says YouTube) to smoke a pipe. Now, my pipe offers me relaxation and a chance to release stress and think... Plus, if I'm being honest- I truly feel cool and sophisticated smoking my pipe; like a new man I suppose?

I really enjoy some bulk blends our local pipe store offers: Nutty Irishman, Summers Day, and White Burley.
Some bulk blends from my local shop that I didn't like: Peaches and Cream, Classic Vanilla, Espresso.
Earlier this week, I picked up a tin of Petersons Nightcap and I was really impressed.

I smoke out of a Peterson Irish Harp (69) as well as a Meerschaum Pipe that my wonderful lady gifted to me for Christmas.

Looking forward to trying more non aromatics since after the Burley and Nightcap I don't really want to go back to aromatics..

Cheers!
Hello from Iowa and welcome aboard.