PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Mar 2, 2021
Alabama USA
Since I am new to pipes, I've been studying eBay also. I learn much this way. For me, most of the pipe I see are of no intertest, but I might discover some information that is useful.

For me, some pipe shapes are just more easy to hold. And, this determines what I would purchase. I am probably wrong, but I doubt a freehand custom is going to smoke any better than an old Kaywoodie if the user does not know what they are doing. I guess the adage that you can't buy a better golf score applies to pipes.

Mar 2, 2021
Alabama USA
An ongoing concern that I have considered is not knowing what ingredients being heated up and down am I bringing into my mouth. We put much trust in pipe makers and pipe restorers. Most of us would not consider putting polishes and glues in our mouths, but we smoke things that we have no idea what's been done.

kurtbob

Lifer
Jul 9, 2019
SE Georgia
My option is, those things were more gimmicky mods to try and improve sales and address general pipe problems like gurgling, tongue bite etc . Most pipes that are properly drilled and smoked in an optimal fashion don’t need those things to make a smoke enjoyable.......just my humble opinion ?

Casual

Lifer
Oct 3, 2019
NL, CA
The intense competition among well-capitalized companies will not come again. There is competition among artisans, but not so much on an industrial scale. There are unlikely to be teams of competing engineers testing different airway technologies for a drier smoke. :)

The same thing has happened with fountain pens: there is competition between small artisans, but no one will make a snorkel pen again, which requires an industrial scale.

So we get different shapes and finishes, and some modern materials like polyester. There’s money in the beauty of pipes in this smaller, partly collector market. But there’s no money in technological innovation in pipes.

Mar 2, 2021
Alabama USA