PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

craig61a

Lifer
Apr 29, 2017
Minnesota USA
Thank you! As an amateur pipemaker who thought about going into the profession in the 70s when I worked in a B&M pipeshop, but chose to pursue a career in the AF, I will look forward to my next trip to Minneapolis and a visit to his store. Our country slowly driving such artist out of business.
So I would guess you were an Eagle driver? I was an ECM tech on F-111's.

Ziggywm

Can't Leave
Sep 9, 2019
Fargo, ND
So I would guess you were an Eagle driver? I was an ECM tech on F-111's.
Nope. A skypilot of a different breed -"Chaplain". I began and ended my career with the Happy Hooligans, a FW of the NDANG. In my civilian career I taught at NDSU in the Religion Department. I worked in PACAF as ANG Command Chaplain, then State Chief of Chaplains for ND before retirement. I don't know how many hours I logged in the T-33, F-4, and F-16, but when I was the Wing Chaplain I tried to fly more then a desk. Being in the AF was the greatest experience of my life putting me on every continent, including Antarctica. Thank you for your service. I always wanted to ride in the WSO seat in the Aardvark but never got the chance.

R

Rattray

It took longer then I expected, but given the situation nowadays...

I had these pipes in for some hand cut stems. A local pipe guy, Rich Lewis did the work. The Charatan had a stem that was offset a bit, and the Barnes had a black stem. I was looking for something a little different, so I sourced some SEM ebonite and had these restemed.

Top notch work. Red/Black 8 swirl on the 1984 Upshall, and Orange/Black 8 swirl on the Ken Barnes ‘K’.

View attachment 69886
Very nice choice of stem colors!

craig61a

Lifer
Apr 29, 2017
Minnesota USA