PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sloopjohnbee

Lifer
May 12, 2019
Atlantic Coast USA
Planning on buffing pipes with a low power electric buffer
Do I buy white diamond, and other rouges, beeswax bar?
or do I just buy some Halcyon and/or Paragon
I'll buy some micro-mesh for the stems - but what type of substances do I need to employ?
I want to get an uber-shine though I'm no pro -

Aomalley27

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 8, 2021
Chicagoland area
The compounds are probably no good unless you can achieve between 1800-2400 rpm (This is optimal for 6 inch wheels, there’s a conversion chart somewhere for 8 inch or 4 inch...)

I sprung for a buffing wheel, and my first was great, til it burned out. My second is a workhorse too, I’ve a Grizzly 1/2 Horsepower variable speed.
They make an economy version 3/4 Hp variable speed, but you’d need to mount extensions for the wheels and mount on a swivel or pivot, as the machine is quite short/low profile.

Reactions: Sloopjohnbee

mingc

Lifer
Jun 20, 2019
The Big Rock Candy Mountains
I can get a mirror shine on my vulcanites with micromesh and white diamond compound applied on a cloth by hand. Then treat with Obsidian and finish with Paragon wax.

I also use the Novus plastic polish kit for my acrylics: https://www.amazon.com/Novus-7136-Plastic-Polish-Kit/dp/B002UD0GIG?ref_=ast_sto_dp. They're basically 2 sizes of compound suspended in liquid plus a non-abrasive silicon polish. The 2 abrasive bottles work equally well on vulcanite and will also give me a mirror finish.

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com