PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nedo

Lurker
Dec 9, 2019
Hi everybody! Hope y'all are doing well!

Been pipe smoking in just couple of weeks, yes Im totally new to this hobby.. My first attempt were Sillems's Black and Lane 1 Q, from my newbie's point of view I thought that those aros are good enough as a starter to this hobby, though it were on the very mild category.. Untill a week ago when I ordered a bulk pack of Ashton Artisan's, first I was so curious because of the unlit smell of it.. Kinda tangy but much more complex than the aros (and i like it).. First time I smoked this Ashton Artisan's Blend and I just blown away by its flavour, its aroma.. wow just wow.. For me, its my very first experience for such a complex and flavorful tobacco blend.. Yup I smoked cigar, but the experience that I got from this blend is totally different..

So Im really happy to join this forum hoping that I can learn alot about this new hobby..

FYI, here in Jakarta or Indonesia in general, there are only few of people that pipe smoking, most of the people here do vaping or regular cigarette. So most of them are thinking that a person who pipe smoking is kinda weird in public, but I dont really care LOL

Sorry for my poor english and such a long introduction! Have a good day everybody :)

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Welcome aboard from central North Carolina, U.S. Have you ever heard of the Indonesian tobacco Tambolaka? One of the online retailers used to sell it in the U.S., but I haven't seen if for years. It was notably strong, very strong; I only ordered it once.

Reactions: bnichols23 and Nedo

Nedo

Lurker
Dec 9, 2019
Welcome from the Great White North!

I'm a fan of Sillem's Black. Good choice, but as a beginner I didn't get much out of it. Fast forward about two years, it's a heavenly smoke.