PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

addamsruspipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 4, 2016
Albuquerque, NM
So I have never tried Jack knife plug before even though I had heard good things about it. So a couple of months ago I was at my local B/M and they had a couple so I picked one up. So got busy and only got around to opening it today. Now I realize truth in advertising has to be taken with a grain of salt but this is ridiculous. Picture of the label and picture of the contents. Hopefully I just got a bad tin, but don't think I am going to try to pick up another.
20220512_185927.jpg
20220512_185327.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

ofafeather

Lifer
Apr 26, 2020
Where NY, CT & MA meet
C&D plugs are not very dense, as well as their flakes. That said. If you like the blend, then go with it. They have some fantastic stuff. I typically end up rubbing it out to some extent anyway. There are a lot of other companies that have “structural issues” with their flakes. They’re stuck together in a mass and you can only peeling them off in weird strips or they’re very broken flakes when you’re expected actual flakes. G&H Curly Cut Deluxe comes almost as a shag rather than the expected coin cut. That said, fine tobaccos so I just go with it and enjoy.
Jackknife does come in a ready rubbed version of you want to avoid the plug issue altogether.

SpookedPiper

Lifer
Sep 9, 2019
East coast
Definitely bordering on false advertising and I too would be surprised! I haven't had the opportunity to open any jack knife plug tins but would be pretty peeved.

Looks more like burnt ends plug or the buts from a loaf of Wonder bread!

The ultimate question is....how does it taste? As we all know not to judge a smoke by its cover!

pipingfool

Can't Leave
Sep 29, 2016
Seattle, WA