PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

redclaypipe

Lurker
Feb 24, 2021
GA
Recently, I acquired a beat up GBD pipe and went on to restoring process. Worked on it for two days and now it's a beautiful pipe. Here is a question that I have for you guys. Have you ever seen a tenon with round end? 20211019_200005.jpg
I own some pipes from 1940s to present day but it's my first time to encounter such a tenon out look. If anyone knows what era this stem work was implemented, please let me know. 20211019_195922.jpg20211019_195821.jpg

Mar 29, 2016
Recently, I acquired a beat up GBD pipe and went on to restoring process. Worked on it for two days and now it's a beautiful pipe. Here is a question that I have for you guys. Have you ever seen a tenon with round end? View attachment 103635
I own some pipes from 1940s to present day but it's my first time to encounter such a tenon out look. If anyone knows what era this stem work was implemented, please let me know. View attachment 103637View attachment 103638
I got the same one, I bought it brand new on E Bay some 8 years ago, I use it for the McClelland Orientals.

Reactions: redclaypipe

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc
The bullet tenon (my name) is often seen on Virgin grade pipes and they also often have the "Hand Cut" stamp on the stem. That stamp is very small, and easy to miss or erase with buffing,etc. Great looking GBD!

redclaypipe

Lurker
Feb 24, 2021
GA
Thank you, guys!

I like the name " bullet tenon ". I'm curious what is the story behind the making of the bullet tenon. I'll research further if there's any info out there.

redclaypipe

Lurker
Feb 24, 2021
GA
I see. Thank you very much for sharing. Indeed, it's a fascinating and intriguing tenon shape. You are such a stylish man to be able to come up with such a name for this tenon shape!

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc