PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rdavid

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 30, 2018
Milton, FL
Just received 4 tins of Capstan from SP. 1 each of flake and ready rubbed, blue and yellow tins.
All the tins are 2018 except for one tin of gold ready rubbed (yellow label, round tin). It’s dated Apr 2013. Can I consider this aged?
I’m really new to Virginias and so far Escudo still burns me if I’m not really careful. FVF is a little easier if I cube cut and dry but still likes to bite a little. Russ Oullett’s Acadian VaPer smokes like a dream and I love this stuff.
Reading reviews on Capstan looks like a good step towards full Virginias. Anyway, will the 2013 tin be worth opening now or should I give it more time? Thanks.

workman

Lifer
Jan 5, 2018
The Faroe Islands
I haven't tried an aged tin yet, but I am sampling all the virginias I can get my hands on and leaving some to age.

I think 5 years would make it an aged blend, but I would advice you to try some of the newer tins first, to get an impression of what you're dealing with and to get some experience to measure the aged tin against.

npod

Lifer
Jun 11, 2017
Capstan is not just a step towards Virginia blends, it’s a leap directly at bullseye. It’s a classic. IMHO 5 years is good, I recommend smoking now. Then order a few tins to age.

rdavid

Jun 30, 2018
Milton, FL
OK. Great. Thanks for the great tips. 2013 tin gets opened tomorrow and the other 3 going into the deep cellar. I’ll report back here on my experience.
Also, smoking PS Luxury Bullseye Flake right now. My God man... 2 coins rubbed out and dried for 30 mins. Wow it’s good. Only ordered 2 oz. bulk in case I didn’t like it. Well, a pound getting ordered soon for the cellar.

npod

Lifer
Jun 11, 2017
Check this out http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/33-year-old-capstan-blue-perfection

rdavid

Jun 30, 2018
Milton, FL