PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Sobrbiker

Lifer
Jan 7, 2023
Casa Grande, AZ
Capitals! See Rule 9, please. Edited for brevity.

Original: "How many blends did you try before you found what you really liked?"

I’m new to pipe smoking, my father pre-inherited me a nice collection of pipes that haven’t seen service in close to 50yrs. I remember him smoking pipes frequently when I was a boy in the seventies. I’ve got them refurbished, and between those and a couple cobs I picked up have been smoking for the past six weeks.
I’m curious how long it took y’all to find your groove on tobacco preference? I’ve bought quite a bit of 2oz blends to try and am leaning towards English/VaPers but I think I mentally lean that way from the learning curve of not having the hang of smoking/packing aros worth a darn.
What’s annoying is I’ll think I really like something after a bowl, then a couple days later not so much.
It’s getting better, I’ve found mixing in some Lane Black Rasperry or Sutliff Sunset Rum into leftovers of straight tobacco blends I’ve picked up at least lets them not go to waste (I mixed a tin of Barbados plantation into a few ounces of Haunted Bookshop my buddy gave me and that’s pretty good). Maybe non-cough syrup burley/cavendish aromatics are a direction to explore.

Am I doomed to just buying a ton of different small amounts for a long while and hope to hit on “the one” or is the never ending search the gist of the hobby?

I just don’t wanna go broke getting buried in little bunches of bulks hoping to figure it out.

Maybe my palate and technique need refining before I sweat it too much…

Wow, that’s a wandering post, but I’m gonna hit “post thread” anyway😆.

Cheers!

Last edited by a moderator:

TheDesertPiper

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 5, 2021
Arizona