PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mordy18

Can't Leave
Mar 12, 2019
Northern New Jersey
I’m sitting on my deck happily smoking a bowl of Durbar in a peterson lovat notwithstanding the 40 degree weather.

Been smoking a pipe for about a year now and have 20 or so tins opened and jarred that i randomly sample from. Vas, VaPers, aromatics and a number of english blends. Its taken a while to appreciate the nuances and im still learning but i decides tonight Durbar is one of my favorites. I like the incense like quality but it isnt heavy or overpowering and it smokes and behaves oh so well.

My english rotation includes father dempsey, presbyterian, nat sherman 536, dunill babys bottom, old gowrie, and plum pudding (although i that one is so distinct i dont know it it is really an english or not).
Any other tobaccos similar to durbar worth sampling?

It took me a little time to appreciate the nuances of Durbar. By that time it was gone.

Some say C&D Rajah’s Court is a similar blend. I have a tin in my cellar but not tried it yet.

See the discussion below

verporchting

Lifer
Dec 30, 2018
Did Durbar not make the cut for the Peterson reboot? Have to confess I haven’t tried any but it seems from what I’ve read most of the popular blends returned other than maybe Dark Flakes and a few others maybe.

Reactions: danimalia

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Any other tobaccos similar to durbar worth sampling?
John Cotton No.1, King Charles, and Star of the East Gold.

Did Durbar not make the cut for the Peterson reboot? Have to confess I haven’t tried any but it seems from what I’ve read most of the popular blends returned other than maybe Dark Flakes and a few others maybe.
Tried this?

sasquatch

Lifer
Jul 16, 2012