PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

JohnnyRockets

Lurker
Sep 1, 2022
Tecumseh, Michigan
Hi all,

I've heard it stated that drying aromatics out was (maybe?) a good idea?

If so, how long would you dry them and in what way?

Spread them on a paper towel for a few days?

Sorry, I'm a newbie and all of this stuff might sounds pretty ghastly, but I'm learning from you all so thanks!

JR

Reactions: Servant King
Jan 30, 2020
New Jersey
It depends, the best way is to experiment with the ones you find you like.

Some, will never dry if they are coated up in PG. I’ll usually do 15-30 minutes on the couple I really enjoy as I want some of the wet edge to be taken off, but still want the topping too. Just pack very light to help counteract it being a bit wet.

Reactions: crashthegrey

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Thanks guys!

What is gravity fill? I think I know by the name but...
Dropping the tobacco into the chamber a little at a time and tapping the pipe on your palm to settle it. Continue the process until full and only use the weight of the tamper when tamping.

Reactions: TN Jed

PipeIT

Lifer
Nov 14, 2020
Hawaii
We have to throw Ambient Conditions into the equation, because in a more humid environment, it could take a half a day or several hours to dry out some blends.

Where I live, the aros I smoke, most of them take around 4-6 hours to dry, to be at a reasonable level of moisture and to even burn.

No one recommends smoking any blend to moist.

The best way I’ve heard it described, when you want an ideal amount of moisture, is to take a pinch between your thumb and index finger and give a squeeze, it should lightly clump together, but falls apart when you let go, you can feel a light amount of moisture.

Also, there’s nothing wrong with drying tabac out really crsip.

Experiment and see what works for you, and you’ll also find, different blends work best dried differently, it’s not like you’re going to dry every blend the same.

Enjoy! ❤️