PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Hobbs

Lurker
Jan 12, 2022
Central New York State
I am fairly new to pipe smoking and like many, I am acquiring different styles of pipes to determine what I like.
But have a question regarding styles. I have a couple MM Cobs, an inexpensive Pear, and a Churchwarden. My go-to has been my Cobs but it has raised a question regarding consistency. If I use the same tobacco and pack it the same way, my Cob will need MAYBE 1-2 relights whereas my other pipes will need a lot more.
Is the design of the pipe indicative to the consistency of the smoke or is it the tobacco? Could a different type of tobacco burn better in the Pear and worse in the Cob?

blackpowderpiper

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 19, 2018
Middle Tennessee
I think you will find over time that it is a combination of many factors. Certainly the pipe will play a role but the tobacco and how it is cut, moisture level, how it is packed, your smoking cadence, environmental conditions etc, all play a part. I don't even think about relights. If my pipe goes out, I simply relight and keep going. I don't get caught up in all the minutiae of pipe smoking. Some tobaccos seem to smoke better for me in certain pipes and sometimes there is really no good explanation for why. I just go with it and enjoy. Keep at it, much will be revealed as you continue to experiment with different combinations.

musicman

Lifer
Nov 12, 2019
Cincinnati, OH
The wide open airway is what you're experiencing with the cob.
This right here. Does the pipe make THE difference? Not necessarily but it can make A difference. Other than the obvious difference of material, assuming the pipe is well drilled, the two ways I find my pipes make a certain tobacco smoke differently are the openness/tightness of the airway, and the dimensions of the bowl.

Jan 28, 2018
Sarasota, FL