Does Perique Add Anything Other Than Spice?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

ArtAraya

Lurker
Aug 21, 2020
Palm Coast, FL
I've recently tried a couple of blends which contain perique. I definitely get the pepper-thing. I don't particularly enjoy that and it doesn't always pair very well with the beverage I'm drinking. I think I'd rather avoid it.

I'm new to VaPers having recently tried a couple. I like them! But can do without the pepper. Does that mean I should try a straight Virginia? Or is the perique in the VaPer adding flavor or other characteristics to the smoke which are contributing to the overall enjoyment of the VaPer?

spicy_boiii

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 5, 2020
Bay Area, California
YES. Like has been said before by Hoosier, there are different perique types. And even within the same "Type", there are different organizations that can sauce or store their perique in different ways that greatly affect its presence and influence on a blend. Perique is also a variable product, and differences in temperature, time, and other factors can affect the flavor compounds that the anaerobic bacteria has on the fermentation period.

I get a strong glutamate affect and salt taste and influence from adding it to various blends. Aging blends with more fruity perique can bring out a plummy and dark almost red-wine-reduction type flavor. Gregory Pease has noted it has a similar salt-like influence on his blends.

Some are sensitive to the spice element of perique. Some Perique has little to no spice element. I'm not sensitive to it all and hardly notice it unless it's pretty extreme and of the spicy variety.

ArtAraya

Lurker
Aug 21, 2020
Palm Coast, FL