PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
May 17, 2020
West Michigan
Being quite new to the pipe tobacco world, I have limited knowledge of the individual types of tobacco. I read reviews with terms like "spicy perique" and "sour Turkish" and cannot seem to pick them out of a blend. The bready dark fruit notes of a Viginia I can seem to place, along with the incense smoke of a Latakia. How would one go about training my tastes? I thought of getting some "blending" tobaccos, but really have no idea which ones would be good and/or in small packages. I don't need a pound of Lemon Virginia or Latakia. Or should I separate a tin by color/cut and try to discern the individual components? Seems like casing and topping may influence that route as well. Thoughts?

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Don't try to take it all in at once. Get a few examples of different genres, like Virginia (Orlik Golden Sliced for example), burley (Carter Hall), and an aromatic like Sir Walter Raleigh Aromatic. The object is to enjoy your pipe, so focus on that, not on becoming familiar with many blends at once. Keep sampling in small quantities, an ounce in bulk, a tin, a pouch, and keep track of what you try.

Reactions: rushx9 and seanv

trouttimes

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
Lake Martin, AL
Slow down there buddy. Part of the joy of pipe smoking is the journey. Learning comes over time and that slow discovery is wonderful. I bet if you revisit in a year, some of the blend you first smoked, you will be surprise what you now taste. I've been smoking over 40 years and I still discover new taste in old blends. Enjoy the ride.

Sonorisis

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 24, 2019
The thing that has helped me the most is getting the very highest quality tobaccos. They are more likely to have the real-deal components. Lot's of brands these days substitute a similar tobacco for a corner-stone element of their claimed blend. And that makes it all but impossible to regulate your taste buds.