PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

thomasw

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 5, 2016
I have been smoking this blend for a few years and I have a question about why the blend seems to improve so much after roughly a year or slightly less in a mason jar. I like it 'fresh' as well, but after almost a year, the blend just becomes deliciously smooth. Looking on TR, some reviewers note this too but none offer a reason. When I examine the constituent tobaccos in it, I am left wondering why does it age as it does rather swiftly. Any ideas?

May 4, 2015
Haunted Bookshop with a year on it is really great, too. I think a bit of time mellows out some of the harshness that these blends can sometimes have.

Ok, as to what happens to a tobacco while aging for one year... There is a dynamic transition of the sugars, and the minerals will form new structures that branch out throughout the structures of the alodehyde cathode of the atomic structures... then the little magic bugs eat up the oxygen in the jars and magically transforms the tobaccos into sweet goodness. I swear this all to be the god's honest truth.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
With some exceptions, I think the changes to -- and benefits of -- aging are greatly exaggerated. Doubtlessly differences can be discerned at certain milestone points like 6mos., 1yr., 2yrs., 5yrs., etc. (cf. Pease); but whether those changes constitute an improvement is moot. Frankly, I prefer recently tinned tobaccos for what Pease calls their youthful exuberance.
While on this point, I'd like to know why some smokers say the aged stuff is sweeter. To my knowledge, the bacteria, fungi, and whatever other buggers are present, are consuming sugars -- not producing them!

deathmetal

Lifer
Jul 21, 2015
IMO burleys and latakias get way better with age.
In my experience, this is true: the Latakia loses its sharp edge, and the Burleys get nuttier, sort of like your average internet forum :D

deathmetal