Cordon Bleu Cooks. Why Do They Have to Be So Good ?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Jun 25, 2021
England
I quite like Illy coffee beans, medium roast. My sister is a Cordon Bleu cook, she uses exactly the same beans, pot and method as I do. Her coffee tastes divine, while mine tastes somewhat mundane. I ask myself how this can be, but I know if you were to put Lewis Hamilton and me in the same off the line production cars, he's more than likely going to thrash me. Even toast is out of this world the way she does it. just ain't fair !

pappymac

Lifer
Feb 26, 2015
It's the subtle nuances they teach either in culinary school or learned working for very good chefs. I'm a damn good cook (according to everyone who has eaten my cooking) but our oldest son is an executive chef and he can out cook me in making fine dining type meals. (He still can't beat my chili or Stewed Redfish.)

Jun 23, 2019
What is a Cordon Bleu cook?

Chicken breast, butterflied, stuffed with cheese and ham, rolled up, breaded then deep fried.

LOL

- - -

I quite like Illy coffee beans, medium roast. My sister is a Cordon Bleu cook, she uses exactly the same beans, pot and method as I do. Her coffee tastes divine, while mine tastes somewhat mundane. I ask myself how this can be, but I know if you were to put Lewis Hamilton and me in the same off the line production cars, he's more than likely going to thrash me. Even toast is out of this world the way she does it. just ain't fair !

Just like piping, technique is king. The same ingredients (and/or equipment) will do dramatically different things in different hands.

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA