PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

maduromadness

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 3, 2014
California
I've been smoking pipes for about 10 years. In that time I've used different ways to light my pipes. Some people account for no obvious taste differences between the various ways to light up. I challenge you to take a blend your very familiar with and use only matches. The intended goal is to reveal how butane and lighter fluids alter the taste of your tobacco and to determine if you can actually perceive that difference as I can. Hopefully this is rewarding for those with delicate palates and at minimum will show the value of tradition and technology. Happy Smoking!

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA
I did use matches when I first started. Since I only smoke outside, use of matches was most frustrating thing ever. I believe it can be done, but try to manage how to handle the pipe filled with tobacco and finding right position to shield from wind didn't work too well.

Having said that, I also have been playing with how to light the tobacco last couple of weeks. Most impact on the over all flavor I found was from evenly and completely lightening the surface of the tobacco. It can be done with initial light, but "true" light can make it easier and with out torching the tobacco.

I found a match box other day, I'll see if that makes difference from Zippo.

pantsBoots

Lifer
Jul 21, 2020
Terra Firma
I've been smoking pipes for about 10 years. In that time I've used different ways to light my pipes. Some people account for no obvious taste differences between the various ways to light up. I challenge you to take a blend your very familiar with and use only matches. The intended goal is to reveal how butane and lighter fluids alter the taste of your tobacco and to determine if you can actually perceive that difference as I can. Hopefully this is rewarding for those with delicate palates and at minimum will show the value of tradition and technology. Happy Smoking!