PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stokesdale

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 17, 2020
Stokesdale
I have NEVER flushed my pipes with water and have NEVER used (grain) alcohol or any other such thing to "flush" my pipes and I've been smoking pipes for nearly 40 years. ALL my pipes are in fantastic shape with minimal cake. There is NO need to do this especially given the daily routine you outline.

Last edited:

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
Sorry if some of you were labelled luddites, or old-stuck-in-your-ways, or douchebags, but I hope I didn't contribute to name calling. If I did, point it out and I will apologize.

And, yes, I am part of the cabal that is not interested in ruining your pipes, but driving you to use alcohol or especially special pipe cleaners/sweeteners/refreshers that the other division of my cabal sells.

jvnshr

Staff member
Sep 4, 2015
Baku, Azerbaijan
I’m starting to realize now, once a cake thickness has been achieved, wipe the chamber out right after smoking to hopefully remove excess buildup, so there is never a need for a reamer in the future... ?

Exactly. When I started smoking pipes I didn't touch the bowls while cleaning my pipes. I remember using a reamer for the first time after a year or so of smoking. Then I started using folded pipe cleaners to clean the bowls. It has been 4 years already, the cake buildup has been really slow. But after seeing this

You got it.? This one's been with me since '92 and has never needed reaming nor oxidation removed.

View attachment 56104

I am definitely moving to paper towel cleaning method.

Reactions: Casual

Papamique

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 11, 2020