PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Beeb

Lurker
Mar 8, 2021
I am looking to buy a Savinelli 122 at smokingpipes.eu im a beginner and dont know what to buy. I smoke my pipes without a filter, am i going to feel any diffrence at all? Why do they make the same pipe with diffrent mm?

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Most pipes with either filter size smoke well without the filter or a no-filter adaptor, but your satisfaction with either version might be a personal preference, a slight difference in the airway restriction, with or without the adaptor. I don't think the difference is much. With the 6 mm filter pipes, I sort of like the adaptor, but I probably wouldn't notice if someone took it out.

Reactions: Lumbridge and STP

STP

Lifer
Sep 8, 2020
Northeast USA
All of my Savinelli pipes are 6mm, and I usually smoke them w/the supplied adapter. Many smoke them without either... It appears that Smoking Pipes EU sell more of the 9mm, and the one in the US (SC) sell the 6mm. It seems that most of Peterson pipes are 9mm... Ultimately, there is no compelling evidence to say that one is better than the other.

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion
Just make sure you get the adapter, in case the draw is too open for you when smoking it sans filter. 9mm without a filter might be either a cool impromptu reverse calabash or a tongue searing furnace. I got the latter when I smoked without filter or adapter. Never again.

Lumbridge

(Pazuzu93)
Feb 16, 2020
Cascadia, U.S.
I have both 6mm and 9mm filtered pipes and smoke them without filters or adapters all the time. The draw will usually be more open than on unfiltered pipes. If you prefer a more open draw, it's a good option.

Savinelli / Rossi filtered pipes will smoke fine regardless of whether the filter/adapter is in place or not.

ParkitoATL

Can't Leave
Mar 11, 2023
Atlanta, GA