PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Payton_Prahl

Lurker
Sep 7, 2021
Hi,
I’ve been using a pipe for several months now. I’m curious how you would know if the pipe was burnt? Should I clearly taste the the tobacco flavor? I only ask because I tend not to be very picky about anything and I’m wondering if theres something I’m missing?

Reactions: STP and Charlie718

OzPiper

Lifer
Nov 30, 2020
Sydney, Australia
There will be a smell of burning wood, as distinct from burning tobacco.

I have had this happen once only - I was smoking a latakia blend at the time. The burning wood smell was very noticeable over the latakia aroma.

It was a new pipe with no cake build-up. Cleaned the chamber out and used a powerful torch to check the inside of the bowl, which showed a couple of scorched areas.

Applied a couple of layers of pipe mud. Problem solved.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
This is somewhat rare. Since you are a new pipe smoker, I think you probably smoke way too hard, puffing up the ember to a high heat. Pipes with no coating in the chamber usually acquire a protective carbon layer with no problem, and in fact I prefer uncoated. But you have to have technique that keeps the draw to a sip, which also keeps the pipe lit better. Slow down and ease up and I think your problem is over.

It doesn't matter how much cake you get, if you over puff that baby, you're going to burn it.
Ha ha, I had to click on this thread because of the Burt reference in your title as well, ha ha.
1631103652251.png

But, if it is a newish pipe, check out the area around the draft. Those narrow areas around the draft hole tend to be what burns first. If it is a sidewall, then you could have a problem with a pit, causing a side burn out.