PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Swampdragon69

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 16, 2019
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Reule 9) - Bob

I have been smoking for several years after a ten year hiatus. My big problem is that it seems that any blend with burley hits me hard. Leaves a gross taste in my mouth that lasts for days even with brushing my teeth and a strong mouthwash. The nicotine headaches are horrid. So I avoid burley blends like the plague of the day. Being Coranavirus, the flu or some other bug of the hour. Does this mean that I am cursed? Not a nicotine fan. Comment at will.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: jpmcwjr and rushx9

Swampdragon69

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 16, 2019
I can smoke burley but Virginia, so far, leaves me flat. No idea if it’s a permanent condition.

But if you have to avoid burley, there are a ton of tobacco blends without it.
I know but all the ones that everyone recommends has burley in it. A lot of the codger blends have burley in them. Trying to avoiding burley is a pain in my patoote.

sasquatch

Lifer
Jul 16, 2012
Burley sucks, which is to say, I find the same as you, Swampy - it's flat, acrid, strong, and nasty. And I mean, I've had the good stuff, Stonehaven etc. I can't do burley. So you're not alone. Luckily there's a million other things to smoke. Mac Baren makes all kinds of low/medium nicotine stuff, mostly burley free (and even their flagship burley blend, Navy Flake, is pretty good).

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
swampdragon, that is a perfectly honorable situation. Some can't taste burley at all; some really don't like it and/or become ill smoking it; and some like it very much. I happen to be a burley smoker, but I sure wouldn't smoke it if it made me suffer. There are plenty of wonderful non-burley blends, so I'd just smoke those. This is supposed to be an enjoyment, not an induced illness. Anything that does not make you feel ill, smoke those.