Bruce Weaver Estate. Has This Been Repaired?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
I purchased this Bruce Weaver as an Estate Pipe on June 1st from a very reputable company. I have purchased thousands of dollars worth of pipes and tobacco from these folks and have not had 1 single problem. I have smoked this pipe less than 10 times and tonight was breaking it down to do a thorough cleaning and as I was twisting them stem out, it actually twisted into 2 pieces. There was a bunch of glue that I wiped off before I shot the photos. Please see pictures below.

Is this a repaired stem? It looks to me like the stem was drilled out and glued together possibly adding the bit that goes into the stummel leading me to believe that the original owner may have broken it but I am by no means an expert.

Before I approach the company, I wanted to ask you all your thoughts if you believe this is a repaired stem or do pipe makers build them like this? In the description, no where does it state it was repaired. Description is quoted below:

"While the late Bruce Weaver's sandblasting technique receives enormous praise, his smooth pipes are equally impressive, as this wonderful smooth Tulip attests. In a light chestnut stain, the grain is accentuated as it rises up the bowl to the flat rim. The bowl extends at an angle from the transition as if an independent element, its curvature tapering to the softly curved heel and underside, which is a panel expanding from the spalted maple accent and into the underside of the bowl with careful asymmetry, a crisp ridgeline defining its lenticular aspect on the right side for a particularly natural-esque aesthetic."

Thoughts?

IMG_4718.jpg
IMG_4719.jpg
IMG_4720.jpg
IMG_4721.jpg
IMG_4722.jpg