PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Micklander

Lurker
Feb 22, 2022
Austin, TX
Hey all,

I’ve been smoking regularly for a few months now and I have some of the basics down. My cellar currently includes PS Luxury Navy Flake, PS Cube Cut, Mac Baren Vanilla Roll Cake and ODF, Peterson My Mixture 965, and Hearth and Home Black House. I enjoy all of these for their own reasons and certainly appreciate all of the variety of flavors they offer. That being said, I recently opened the Black House and have smoked nothing else for the last several days. I am really enjoying it.

I am interested in trying some of the very heavy Latakia blends and I know after looking around I should try Ten Russians, Star of the East Flake and Pirate Kake but I want to know what y’all personally recommend for English blends and any other “must try” blends of all varieties. Your guidance and opinions are greatly appreciated!

burleybreath

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 29, 2019
Finger Lakes area, New York, USA
You asked for opinion, I deliver: Latakia should be a condiment, not a major component of a blend. I would be wary of very heavy latakia blends, lest one eventually tire of the leaf, due to overdosing. Many here, apparently, are ex-latakia lovers, and some now avoid it altogether. Seems obvious what happened.

As for "must try" blends: they all are. You seem off to a great start, and have obviously done your research. But it's all so subjective. Every man for himself, I say--ergo, I'm done.

Micklander

Lurker
Feb 22, 2022
Austin, TX
You asked for opinion, I deliver: Latakia should be a condiment, not a major component of a blend. I would be wary of very heavy latakia blends, lest one eventually tire of the leaf, due to overdosing. Many here, apparently, are ex-latakia lovers, and some now avoid it altogether. Seems obvious what happened.