PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

seacaptain

Lifer
Apr 24, 2015
One thing I discovered along my tobacco journey is that I hate burley blends, the only exception is if it's in a cavendish blend, probably because they're aromatics.

woopigpiper

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 24, 2017
Arkansas
Production will go up when profitability returns.
Forgive me, Cortez. But that is an over simplification of something as resource and labor intensive as growing tobacco. And for something that has been declining nationally for over 14 years, what hope is there that profitability would ever return? Moreover, how long can farmers give tobacco a chance with already declining profitability? It is a bleak outlook.

...Let's see. According to teh article, they get $3000 an acre. That's liker crazy silly farming. Consider this... commodity farmers like me, in a bumper year might get $500 and acre. Last year was a bumper year for most of us. So... as a farmer, I am having a hard time with the empathy. Especially, since tobacco farmers have been getting more government subsidies, and they were under contract with the prices set at the beginning of the year. Every year was a sure thing for them. So, the contracts and the subsidies are removed and they have to take the same gamble that the rest of us do... I am not being a cold heartless ass, but the article just fails to sell the plight of these "poor farmers" to me, seeing how the rest of the farmers live.
This article in no way indicates that there will be a shortage of anything. Like I said, just going by this article.

maker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 22, 2018
It was a difficult weather and disease year last year. So that may also have added to the problems. This year is shaping up to be more of the same. It's snowing in Chicago

briarbuck

Lifer
Nov 24, 2015