PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lykkeberg

Lurker
Nov 25, 2019
Denmark
Hi all.

I've been smoking for almost 3 months now, so still very new at this.
I am having trouble keeping my Amphora nr.8 (an aromatic) staying lit, which is odd as I have no trouble keeping my pipe lit when I smoke english blends, which I pack the completely same way and light the same way.

I have tried smoking it straight out of bag, dried for 15 mins, 30 mins, 1 hour, 2 hours, but in all instances it goes out shortly after the initial light. I've tried tampering it both little and a lot and neither of the two helps solve the issue.

Is this just me doing it wrong or something wrong with this tobacco?

Thanks.

Edit: i use a soft butane pipe lighter.

Reactions: anthonyrosenthal74
Jan 8, 2013
Well, aromatics are of course more prone to go out than non aromatics for obvious reasons. Try a pipe with a wider chamber, dry the tobacco a little more, pack it lighter than you normally would. If you can't get a good enough draw to light it, pack it down a tad bit more until you can and make sure it's a good solid charring light. If it goes out, fine, just tamp it down a tad again and relight it. Sometimes you just have to find that sweet spot. Also, relights are ok, but I understand the frustration if you're having to relight after every other puff or so. Also. try speeding up the drying time with a warmer of some sorts (coffee cup warmer or even the microwave 10 second method if you must). Remember also to tamp lightly when you must, and not to over tightly pack or tamp.

Lykkeberg

Lurker
Nov 25, 2019
Denmark