PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shanez

Lifer
Jul 10, 2018
Las Vegas
I want to set up a Roth IRA for my daughter who is 10 months old.

She obviously has no income. I know I can gift her the maximum annual limit and stay under the federal gift limit for taxes but will she then have to pay income tax on it?

If so wouldn't she be entitled to a full refund anyway?

tokerpipes

Lifer
Jan 16, 2012
Eatonville, WA
Best to talk to your bank they can set up an ira easily. I think the taxes would be based on interest, but they would know the answer better.

adui

Can't Leave
Aug 26, 2019
Mesa Arizona
I used to be a licenced enrolled Agent. My information however is from memory. I have not studied in some time.

That said, a Roth is funded with after tax dollars. This means the tax is already paid. Assuming you can gift this to her, she shouldn't have to pay taxes on any of it. If later in life she adds funds then they to would be from money the tax had already been paid on by her. So when she retires, assuming no laws pertaining to Roth IRAs changes. There would be no tax on the qualifying withdrawals.

Bottom line find a CPA, or an enrolled Agent and discuss it with them before pulling the trigger

Definitely talk to your CPA. Roth IRAs are funded with post tax money and the money grows tax free. However there may be complications since you are funding your daughter’s Roth IRA with your money. In general if you have paid taxes, then she should not have to, but I am not qualified (or knowledgeable) to tell you that

Have you considered the following? Please do talk to your CPA

1. A Roth IRA in your own name - You have the ability to name your daughter as beneficiary in your will, and any distribution you take for her education is qualified and not taxed
  2. 529 Plans - I have mixed feelings about it, but a right 529 is a very good savings vehicle for your daughter’s education