Any Experts On American Fighter Aircraft On The Forum?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mawnansmiff

Lifer
Oct 14, 2015
Sunny Cornwall, UK.
I've been working on my family tree on and off now for twenty years and have an astonishing 74,591 individuals on my tree which is kept on a database designed for the purpose (PAF5).

I always knew I had many relatives settle in the US, mostly (but not exclusively) in the Mormon states of Utah, Missouri, Idaho etc.

Well one of these relations is a chap called Dale B Palfreyman, my 6th cousin once removed. Born 22 Sep 1922 in McCammon, Bannock County, Idaho and died 13 Mar 2017 at Corona Del Mar, California.

The only picture I have of him is enclosed and I wonder if anyone might shed some light on what the aircraft is.

I presume he fought in the Vietnam war (just watched Ken Burns' box set of the same and that spurred this interest). In 1967 he is ranked Lieutenant Commander in the United States Naval and Reserve.

So guys, any help would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Jay.

Bowie

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 24, 2019
Minnesota
Jay,

Based on the position of the air inlets, this is likely a Grumman F9-4 Cougar or one of its variations (e.g., a trainer). The Cougar's predecessor - the F9 Panther - had a similar design, but the inlets were placed a little farther back along the fuselage than the Cougar.

See:

(My later father-in-law was a Naval Reserve LTC and pilot in the same era as your family member.)

Regards,
Bowie

mawnansmiff

Lifer
Oct 14, 2015
Sunny Cornwall, UK.
Blimey, that was a quick response.....many thanks Bowie.

I was surprised that being of the Mormon faith so many of my relatives joined the armed services, assuming their religion would preclude them from serving but no, I have plenty that served so that's my theory out the window.

Thanks again.

Regards,

Jay.

Reactions: BROBS and Bowie

mso489

Lifer